more on lip reading

Continuing with the sound/image idea I was trying to decide how to display the different view of a Deaf person trying to lip read. Was thinking it would be interesting to have different videos of a person talking; one would be without any sound, one would have sound but it would cut-out or muffle when the person turns away or puts there hand over there mouth etc. I could also have a video with subtitles maybe, could have words missing when the person turns away etc but maybe not!?

I could use sensor pads on the floor. So when you enter the room there is just a woman talking with no sound, then when you press the different sensors it adds elements of sound or subtitles.

I was researching lip reading and I found an advert that is a really good example of the type of thing I was thinking of doing. Although I wouldn’t use just lips, I was thinking of actually filming someone talking

This is an advert for New Zealand’s National Foundation for the Deaf. Through my research I have discovered that there are hardly any adverts for awareness of lip reading. The only other one I could really find is the link in the last lip reading post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Development of ideas, Research, Self initiated project

Leave a comment